Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize: Shortlist revealed

Getty Images

Three novels, two short story collections, and one poetry collection have been shortlisted for the 2023 Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize.

The £20,000 prize celebrates published literary works in the English language by authors aged 39 or under.

The winner will be announced on 11 May at a winner’s ceremony held in Swansea.

Chairwoman of the judges Di Speirs said the works have “acute observation of the natural world and of human relationships”.

She added: “All six – while hugely different in style, subject and genre, and ranging from rural Tasmania and the wild Irish coast to the sharply contemporary in Nigeria and the UK – exemplify not only the talent and excitingly fresh, often startling, writing we were seeking, but draw the reader in and on.”

The shortlisted works are:

  • Limberlost by Robbie Arnott (Atlantic Books) – a novel set in Australia
  • Seven Steeples by Sara Baume (Tramp Press) – a novel set in Ireland
  • God’s Children Are Little Broken Things by Arinze Ifeakandu (Orion, Weidenfeld & Nicolson) – a short story collection from Nigeria
  • I’m a Fan by Sheena Patel (Rough Trade Books) – novel (UK)
  • Send Nudes by Saba Sams (Bloombury Publishing) – short story collection (UK)
  • Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head by Warsan Shire (Chatto & Windus, Vintage) – poetry collection (Somalia-UK)

You may also like...